COM Sports Car Club News

Archive for August, 2018

Mid Season Competition Update

Technically, more than half the season is over so let’s call this a three-quarters-season update. We’ve been having a banner year in terms of the number of participants at each event, and let’s hope we can keep this going for the last two events at Watkins Glen and New Hampshire Motor Speedway. It’s also great to see our members (and others) engaging with our Facebook page, posting images (thank you James Ray!) and sharing event announcements. Keep it up!

Competition has been hot this year, and here’s a quick class-by-class review:

Super Unlimited – Dan D’Arcy’s strong showing in the first four events (three wins and a second) have kept him in the lead despite missing the Palmer event.

Super A – 2017 Class Champion Kellie Greer has (almost) had the class to herself with Charles King in second.

Super B – John French started the season with a couple of P2’s, but a strong middle part of the season with two wins has seen him move to the lead in the championship. James Laughlin, Andrew Berlow and Jamie Melhuish have wins this season but haven’t attended enough events to challenge John. David Coutu has parleyed his P2 at Mt Tremblant into 3rd in the championship.

Super C – a small class with three amazing drivers, Super C is always a treat to watch. Chris Parsons has benefited from his competitors having some unfortunate luck, but Will Martins is hot on his heels while car trouble means Ryan Catucci has resorted to using two cars to stay in the hunt.

Super D – Roe Cole’s new S2000 has paid dividends with a win this year, while Rob Smigiel proved that aero and Hoosiers makes a Miata 3 seconds a lap faster! Hugh Wallace, Role Cole, Peter McParland and Rob Smigiel have won this year, but it’s Mark Swinehart who has been the most consistent and lies second in the championship behind Roe with the drop factored in.

T100 – this is always a small class that boasts some of the fastest, best driven cars. Bob Cairns leads the field with 24 points after setting a track record at Palmer 1.

T90– David Lapierre continues to rack up wins, FTD’s and other people’s trophies. Victor Larin won Mt Tremblant by 0.062 seconds and Thompson by 0.111 seconds and sits in second with the drop factored in. Steven Amanti in his Z06 sits in third.

T80 – it can’t get any closer than two drivers tied for the lead, and a third driver only two points down. Chris Hornung has won every event he attended and is tied for first with Kevin Cross in his Z06. Vidi Saptari grabbed his first ever win by less than a tenth at Mt Tremblant and is 3rd overall. Last year’s champion Marc Epstein has two 2nd places, but hasn’t been able to make it to enough events to defend his title this year. Jim McKenna, John McAdam and Kristin Galipeau are still in with a shot to finish on the podium for the season.

T70 – Nelson Barros and Jon Cowen have been putting on quite a show in the Battle of the Black M3’s. Jon won the first event at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, but Nelson won both Palmer events (setting a new track record with a 1:46.3 lap) and has closed to within two points of Jon in the championship. Dan Durusky upset the established order at Palmer 1 by putting his white M3 in P2. Photographer extraordinaire James Ray has been consistent this season in his Ford Mustang GT despite battling tire rubbing issues, and sits in third in the championship. Peter Rokel in his Dodge Neo SRT-4 rounds out the top 5.

T60 – this class has seen a pretty big shakeup this year, with multiple cars leaving the class at the end of 2017 and several others joining. However 2018 has seen a stacked and incredibly deep field and big guns Dave Lemoine and Jeff Wasilko have mostly set the pace. Dave owns a 1 point lead, but new entrant Brewster Charles has been making a late push and is battling club President Troy Velazquez and Mt Tremblant winner Shervin Yeganeh for third in the championship. Shervin deserves special mentions for his dominating win at Mt Tremblant (over 0.9 seconds to P2) and battling through several mechanical issues to keep his season podium hopes alive.

T50 – driving savant Nick Fontana won two of the first three events, but mechanical issues have sidelined his Miata for the last couple of events. Bill Chabot traded in his Corolla daily driver for a caged RSX Type S this year, and that has paid dividends with a couple of podiums and third in the championship. However, this class is turning into a two horse race with David Wittmer (two wins) leading Matthew Leblanc (one win) by a slim one point margin. There were also rumors of a Chad Fox sighting at Mt Tremblant, and he was one of the four drivers to beat the T50 lap record set back in 2013.

T40 – AKA the year of the BRZ. Dan Baldwin and Sash Dias have been trading wins all year with a combined margin of victory over 5 events of 1.788 seconds. Dan’s blazing TT lap at Palmer has given him the lead in both the class championship and the overall driver championship. Matt Daniels and Derek Tanguard are nipping at their heels and have had consistent results, while veterans Juile Wasilko, Tom Cannon and Dennis Herrick are not far behind. This has been a deep class and has averaged over 10 cars per event.

T30 – it has officially been confirmed that Micah Spielvogel’s name is pronounced MY-CAH with a Boston accent! On a more serious note, Micah is one of the most improved drivers this year and set new track records at Palmer, Mt. Tremblant and Thompson and has won four events on the trot. Last year’s champion Drew “I only show up for TT day” Grigg has been consistently scoring P2’s and lies second in the standings. Emily Berthier had a rough start to the season, but has grabbed two podiums at the last two events with her new car. Mikhael El-Bayeh won the first event but lost his engine at second event, and it’s been great to see him at the track helping our hard working operations team! A shout out to David Beningson and Peter Perrault, who have turned in consistent performances to sit 3rd and 4th in the T30 championship standings. And last but not least Ben Chiel broke a hub on the morning of the TT but rebuilt the entire corner of the car to get back out on track for the TT at Palmer 2 – now that’s dedication!
Dan Baldwin leads the overall driver championship with 68.2 points, but Dave Lemoine has 67.4 points , Sash Dias has 66.2 and Micah Spielvogel has 65 points – the championship is far from over.

We’re rounding out the season with our upcoming Watkins Glen event in early September and NHMS in October – hope to see you all there!

Register for Watkins Glen

Register for New Hampshire Motor Speedway

The Time Has Come… Watkins Glen!!!

watkins ad 2018


COMSCC is back at epic Watkins Glen on the 10th and 11th of September for an HPDE and time trial event. Last year’s event saw some incredibly close battles in the time trial championship – Andrew Grigg won T30 by 0.138 seconds and Nick Fontana won his class by 0.181 seconds. This year’s time trials are shaping up to be just as close, and our HPDE days are the best in the business!

This is also an incredible opportunity to check out the Vintage Grand Prix race event taking place at The Glen on September 7th, 8th & 9th.

Don’t wait until registration is over – click here to save your spot:

Event cost & other information can be found at the registration link: Watkins Glen Registration Page

If you have any specific questions about event registrations please contact our Registrar:

If you have specific event questions (entry / gas / etc.) please keep an eye on our Event Annoucement Section on the forum or contact our Chief of Event Operations: