2016 Competition Update #5- Watkins Glen


Expectations were high this year for our return to The Glen after a two year hiatus due to the repave.  We were fortunate to get two perfect days of weather.  Gone are the old red and white curbs- replaced with bright yellow and orange.  Those teeth chattering mid-corner concrete patches are now the same smooth pavement found everywhere else.  Additional paved runoff has been added making the blue gauntlet just slightly less intimidating.  What isn’t gone is what makes Watkins Glen one of the best tracks in the world- fast sweepingcorners, dramatic elevation changes and a challenge like no other.  We were all reminded why you just don’t miss a trip to The Glen.

A big thanks to James Ray and his wife Rochelle for taking some fantastic pictures again.  You can check them out HERE.

Here is what went down in the time trial:

Super Unlimited – The SU party was crashed by a formula car and a Ford Mustang (sort of) battling it out for FTD.  Mike Meyers laid down three very consistent sub two-minutes laps to take second place.  It was Kurt Hissong though who nabbed 1st place with a 1:54.766 which was also good for FTD.

Super A – Super A had it’s deepest field of the season thus far.  Tom Greer laid down a few 2:08s to take third place.  Justin Webster was improving by seconds on each lap of his TT.  He secured second place with a 2:05.444.  But it was Marc Fuchswanz in his flat black Vette that took first with a blazing 2:02.576.

Super B – James Laughlin took 3rd place in his very cool Porsche 914 with a 2:11.781.  Kevin Williams  broke the 2:10 barrier with his bright red NC Miata to take 2nd place with a 2:09.958- with the top up.  No one was catching Jake Wile in his white M3 however.  All that yarn aero testing must have paid off because he recorded a 2:03.074 to take the SB win.

Super C – Once again Chris Parsons laid down some fast consistent laps in his turbo Miata.  He took the class win with a time of 2:11.549.

Super D – After Mark Swinehart’s Miata relieved itself all over the track Greg Hosselbarth wasn’t left with much competition.  That didn’t stop him from laying down some very fast laps in his Miata.  His best lap of 2:17.065 was good for the win.

T100 – T100 is all about the muscle.   Bob Cairns who limped trough the TT with engine troubles conceded 2nd place to his roommate Laura Fleming.  No one was going to catch Godzilla on this day however.   Donald Piette ran a very brisk 2:02.540 to take the class win.

T90 – Jon Harris just edged out another Z06 to take 2nd place with a 2:13.239.  Stephen Tise sold his Mustang and bought… another Mustang.  It was a bold strategy that paid off with a first place finish with a 2:08.413.

T80 – T80 was a very close battle.  Victor Larin ran a strong 2:10.839 in his E46 M3 good for second place.  He needed another couple seconds to be able to catch David Lapierre though who ran a 2:09.109 in his Cayman GT4 to take first place.

T70 – Abdi Garcia made his first podium since 2013.  He laid down a 2:15.396 in his Camaro.  You knew it was going to be close for the win when two T70 cars rolled through tech inspection after their TT laps.  Nelson Barros was feeling confident having run well below the previous T70 track record in his E36 M3.  His 2:12.796 ended up falling just short of first however.  Jon Cowen’s 2:12.506 set a new track record and took the class win.

T60 – Stephan de Penasse earned his first class trophy of the year with a 2:22.245 which was good for fourth place.  Roe Cole had the recovery of the event.  He pulled his 944 back together in impressive fashion after a T1 mishap in practice to take third place and his second podium of the year.  Troy Velazquez couldn’t match the 2:14s he ran in practice but his 2:16.311 was good for second place.  Meanwhile on another planet where physics don’t apply, Dave Lemoine laid down a stunning 2:12.998 to beat Nick Fontana’s T60 track record by almost two seconds!

T50 – COM new-comer John Spain crashed the T50 party and ran a very respectable 2:20.025 in a spec Miata to take third place in a very competitive field.  Class leader Jeff Wasilko found some more time and ran a personal best 2:17.285 to take second place.  Dave Wittmer returned to T50 and ran a 2:17.034 to take the win- his first event win since 2013.

T40 – T40 continues to be the most interesting class in the club.  Larry Leff ran a 2:23.627 to take fourth place.  This was his second consecutive trophy in T40.  Derek Tangard laid down a 2:22.647 but fell JUST shy of Scott Rosnick who came across with a 2:22.545 good for second place.  So wait who won?  In the morning practice session this driver was a couple seconds off the pace and needed a rabbit to chase.  Scott pulled him around for a few laps and managed to pull him into the 22s for the first time.  Apparently Scott showed him too much.  Congrats to Tom Cannon who ran a 2:22.039 good for his first class win since the new class rules were implemented.

T30 – Frank Sordillo was the only T30 competitor.  He recorded a 2:56.862 to take home 13 class points.

Our next event is at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on October 8th & 9th.  You can sign up HERE.

~Dave W.


Sights like this are what make COM so special.