COM Sports Car Club News

Archive for the ‘Watkins Glen’ Category

2016 Competition Update #5- Watkins Glen


Expectations were high this year for our return to The Glen after a two year hiatus due to the repave.  We were fortunate to get two perfect days of weather.  Gone are the old red and white curbs- replaced with bright yellow and orange.  Those teeth chattering mid-corner concrete patches are now the same smooth pavement found everywhere else.  Additional paved runoff has been added making the blue gauntlet just slightly less intimidating.  What isn’t gone is what makes Watkins Glen one of the best tracks in the world- fast sweepingcorners, dramatic elevation changes and a challenge like no other.  We were all reminded why you just don’t miss a trip to The Glen.

A big thanks to James Ray and his wife Rochelle for taking some fantastic pictures again.  You can check them out HERE.

Here is what went down in the time trial:

Super Unlimited – The SU party was crashed by a formula car and a Ford Mustang (sort of) battling it out for FTD.  Mike Meyers laid down three very consistent sub two-minutes laps to take second place.  It was Kurt Hissong though who nabbed 1st place with a 1:54.766 which was also good for FTD.

Super A – Super A had it’s deepest field of the season thus far.  Tom Greer laid down a few 2:08s to take third place.  Justin Webster was improving by seconds on each lap of his TT.  He secured second place with a 2:05.444.  But it was Marc Fuchswanz in his flat black Vette that took first with a blazing 2:02.576.

Super B – James Laughlin took 3rd place in his very cool Porsche 914 with a 2:11.781.  Kevin Williams  broke the 2:10 barrier with his bright red NC Miata to take 2nd place with a 2:09.958- with the top up.  No one was catching Jake Wile in his white M3 however.  All that yarn aero testing must have paid off because he recorded a 2:03.074 to take the SB win.

Super C – Once again Chris Parsons laid down some fast consistent laps in his turbo Miata.  He took the class win with a time of 2:11.549.

Super D – After Mark Swinehart’s Miata relieved itself all over the track Greg Hosselbarth wasn’t left with much competition.  That didn’t stop him from laying down some very fast laps in his Miata.  His best lap of 2:17.065 was good for the win.

T100 – T100 is all about the muscle.   Bob Cairns who limped trough the TT with engine troubles conceded 2nd place to his roommate Laura Fleming.  No one was going to catch Godzilla on this day however.   Donald Piette ran a very brisk 2:02.540 to take the class win.

T90 – Jon Harris just edged out another Z06 to take 2nd place with a 2:13.239.  Stephen Tise sold his Mustang and bought… another Mustang.  It was a bold strategy that paid off with a first place finish with a 2:08.413.

T80 – T80 was a very close battle.  Victor Larin ran a strong 2:10.839 in his E46 M3 good for second place.  He needed another couple seconds to be able to catch David Lapierre though who ran a 2:09.109 in his Cayman GT4 to take first place.

T70 – Abdi Garcia made his first podium since 2013.  He laid down a 2:15.396 in his Camaro.  You knew it was going to be close for the win when two T70 cars rolled through tech inspection after their TT laps.  Nelson Barros was feeling confident having run well below the previous T70 track record in his E36 M3.  His 2:12.796 ended up falling just short of first however.  Jon Cowen’s 2:12.506 set a new track record and took the class win.

T60 – Stephan de Penasse earned his first class trophy of the year with a 2:22.245 which was good for fourth place.  Roe Cole had the recovery of the event.  He pulled his 944 back together in impressive fashion after a T1 mishap in practice to take third place and his second podium of the year.  Troy Velazquez couldn’t match the 2:14s he ran in practice but his 2:16.311 was good for second place.  Meanwhile on another planet where physics don’t apply, Dave Lemoine laid down a stunning 2:12.998 to beat Nick Fontana’s T60 track record by almost two seconds!

T50 – COM new-comer John Spain crashed the T50 party and ran a very respectable 2:20.025 in a spec Miata to take third place in a very competitive field.  Class leader Jeff Wasilko found some more time and ran a personal best 2:17.285 to take second place.  Dave Wittmer returned to T50 and ran a 2:17.034 to take the win- his first event win since 2013.

T40 – T40 continues to be the most interesting class in the club.  Larry Leff ran a 2:23.627 to take fourth place.  This was his second consecutive trophy in T40.  Derek Tangard laid down a 2:22.647 but fell JUST shy of Scott Rosnick who came across with a 2:22.545 good for second place.  So wait who won?  In the morning practice session this driver was a couple seconds off the pace and needed a rabbit to chase.  Scott pulled him around for a few laps and managed to pull him into the 22s for the first time.  Apparently Scott showed him too much.  Congrats to Tom Cannon who ran a 2:22.039 good for his first class win since the new class rules were implemented.

T30 – Frank Sordillo was the only T30 competitor.  He recorded a 2:56.862 to take home 13 class points.

Our next event is at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on October 8th & 9th.  You can sign up HERE.

~Dave W.


Sights like this are what make COM so special.

Event announcement:

Register now for Watkins Glen- fresh pavement included!

Registration for Watkins Glenn is now open!!!  It has been two years since COM has held an event at The Glen due to the repave in the latter half of 2015.  Remember those teeth-shattering concrete patches in the esses and at the toe of the boot?  Those are a thing of the past.  Sign up soon as this event will fill up quickly.

The event cost & other information can be found at the registration link: Watkins Glen Registration Page

If you have any specific questions about event registrations please contact our Registrar:

If you have specific event questions (entry / gas / etc.) please keep an eye on our Event Annoucement Section on the forum or contact our Chief of Event Operations:

Here is a VERY quick tour of the newly paved Watkins Glen:

Event announcement:

Registration is open for Watkins Glen

Registration is open for our September 10-11 event at Watkins Glen! The Glen is a world class track and the event may fill up quickly so be sure to register early.

If you’re a first timer note that the $100 rebate program for first time participants is still in effect.

Event announcement:

Registration for Watkins Glen on Sep 14 & 15 is now open

Registration for Watkins Glen on September 14 & 15 is now open. The Glen is a world class track and the event may fill up quickly so be sure to register early. If you’re a first timer note that the $100 rebate program for first time participants is still in effect.

Event announcement:

COM Hot Lap Ride-Along Program

Want to get a taste of COM by taking some hot laps around a race track?

The COM Hot Lap Ride-Along Program is intended for new or prospective members to participate in a hot lapping session on the race track with a COM instructor. Participants must be registered members of COM (which the $35 fee covers).
Click here to register.

WGI event results are posted

The April Watkins Glen event results have been posted along with the season standings and track records. Congratulations to Lee Walsh (PC), Mike Woods (SPA), Fred Ferguson (ST2), Greg Loupis (ST3), Michael Geldart (SSU), and Matthew Barnes, (SSB) who all set a new pace in their classes despite not having any dry practice time on day 1.

Photos from WGI available

Thanks to Dave G. and Ryan C. for sharing their photos from WGI this past weekend. Dave even managed to get some shots of the killer Corvettes that showed up. …we are Corvettes of Massachusetts after all.
Dave’s gallery | Ryan’s gallery